Variations on Kale

Being a busy week that it has been so far, it’s important to have a few quick & healthy meals in mind. Yesterday, I swung by the grocery store on my way home from work and picked up some organic red kale. This leafy green vegetable is super nutritious, packed with anti-oxidants – Vitamin A, C and K, and rich in calcium. It’s so versatile that you can eat it raw or blanch it in water for a minute or two before serving.

Tuesday Night – My spin on the Loco Moco – a local Hawaiian favourite consisting of white rice, a hamburger patty, a fried egg, topped with gravy and Spam. Here’s my version – a garden patty (brown rice, cheese, nuts) – from Costco, and a fried egg on a bed of kale, cherry tomatoes and celery topped with capers, roasted sesame and my home-made tahini sauce (recipe below).

Image

Wednesday Night – My version of a vegan Jambalaya with Kale, Quinoa and Tofu. The quinoa is red from the tomato paste that i added to the boiling water (trick from a friend to enhance the taste & colour). I pan-fried a few slices of tofu and threw it all together on a bed of kale after I had blanched in water for 2 minutes.

Image

My sauce consists of: Tahini, lemon juice, cumin, sesame oil, oilve oil, salt and white pepper.

Hope you enjoyed reading my post. Now invent your own Kale Variation and share away!

One thought on “Variations on Kale

Leave a Reply

